The Fur Kid Dilemma and Puntastic Fun Ensues – The Continuing Adventures of an Aussie Girl in Sacramento
I am just going to come straight out and say it.
I miss my cats.
Jinga performing the Vulcan Kitty Mind Meld.
Jinga performing the Vulcan Kitty Mind Meld.
I am a bit of a crazy cat lady so Princess Jinga and Miss Shichimi were treated liked feline royalty and reciprocated by bestowing their fuzzy love upon me constantly.
Even when I didn’t want it.
There is no escaping the kisses. LOVE ME GOSH DARN IT.
There is no escaping the kisses.
LOVE ME GOSH DARN IT.
Seriously, Jinga would paw and claw at my arm at night til I let her under the blankets and then she’d shove her little pink wet nose in my armpit, elbow and any other warm spot she could find before shredding my thigh meat to ribbons with all her affectionate kneading.
Sadly, Jinga is so neurotic she can’t handle a five minute drive to the vets, let alone a 30 hour flight and Chimi wouldn’t leave her, so they are still living in Cemetery House with their Uncle Drew, who spoils them with pork crackle and bacon jerky and doesn’t seem to mind their snotty kitty kisses.
Jinga thinks Skype is the best invention ever.
Jinga thinks Skype is the best invention ever. I’m sure she is just thrilled to see me.

But I love the company of small fuzzy creatures so I started to investigate California critter companions and I came across the Chinchilla. They are soft and fluffy and have adorable little faces and THEY ARE NOT OVERGROWN HAIRY RATS like my grandmother seems to think. I did my research, found a Chinny Ranch out in Lincoln and soon procured two little fuzzbutts: a fat frumpy grey whose name is Poki and a delicate ebony darling called Kyoya.

Yes I make memes of my Chinchillas. No I don't see the problem with this.
Yes I make memes of my Chinchillas.
No I don’t see the problem with this.

They have pretty distinct personality traits.

Poki enjoys food.

Biscuits in particular.

That chinny would sell her soul for a biscuit and not even notice it was gone. She has no compunction about literally taking the food from her sister’s mouth which leaves Kyoya a little confused when she takes a bite of thin air instead of the raisin she had there a few milliseconds prior.

Cat beards are a thing of the past. The latest fashion accessory is the Chinny Chin Strap.
Cat beards are a thing of the past. The latest fashion accessory is the Chinny Chin Strap.

Kyoya however, cares less for food and more about spending time in her pirate ship hammock and looking depressed. She excels in both of these activities. She certainly practices enough.

Chinchillas also give me the opportunity to make spectacular puns on a daily basis. These include:

“What are Poki and Kyoya doing? Oh just CHINCHILLING”

“You’ve been naughty. That’s 5 seconds in the CHIN BIN”

“Little pig let me in, not by the hairs on my CHINNY CHIN CHIN”

Annnnd I’m out.

*drops mic*

This is the face I get when making chinny puns to Kyoya. She obviously has no sense of humour.
This is the face I get when making chinny puns to Kyoya.
She obviously has no sense of humour.
